May 2009 Review

may2009review

At first glance, I would think I should be embarrassed. We spent $425.81 more than we made! But if I break it down, it looks better than it is….

Car: Most of this was fuel. We drove a lot this month, and gas prices are getting high again. $40 bucks were put on our toll card. I set my projection high on this, hoping we’d have some left to put in our car fund. Clearly, that’s not happening…

Groceries: I didn’t even realize how much I’d spent in this category, and am pleasantly surprised that it’s near goal. Next month, my goal is going to be a lot lower, but I’ll discuss that more later.

Household: The thing that really put us over is that I bought razor cartridges for Mr. D2S when I saw them on sale. Almost $50 worth! I think he should grow a beard. πŸ˜‰

Eating out (work): Mr. D2S works four days a week and usually buys a meal. It’s not the most frugal thing, of course, but I’m fine with us spending the money. He had a few odd days that led to him either getting a free meal or bringing his own lunch, so we were way under goal for this category. I always plan to pack my lunch, but around $6 is my spending.

Dry cleaning: I really feel like we must’ve spent more than nine bucks, but unfortunately we usually pay cash, and often times Mr. D2S picks it up (and forgets to tell me), so I can’t be sure.

Fun Money: This category probably needs a new name. Almost all of this was spent on us eating out. We treated my in-laws once, a friend another time, but mostly, it was just the two of us. Two expensive meals were due to us being out of town (for my job). Other things paid for in this category: a zoo trip and a show. I feel bad that we spent so much, especially when I think that we still maxed out our grocery budget.

Clothing: We really hardly ever buy clothes. I did buy a dress for my graduation, a skirt (that I decided I don’t need), a shirt for work, and two pairs of shoes. (The second pair was necessary because the first gave me blisters at my graduation!) Mr. D2S needed to be restocked on undershirts, underwear, and socks. I thought I would buy more clothes for my job, but decided against it when I realized how quickly we were blowing through money.

Graduation: I thought graduating meant that you were gonna make money, not spend it! Well…that’s true, but this event was still expensive for us. Exams ($590), hotel, paying for a dog-sitter, treating my entire family (20+ people) to pizza…all that added up.

Medical/Window: This is due to the aforementioned flying bug fiasco. I didn’t want to include it in last month’s budget, so I charged it and we paid it early in May. (Usually when I put stuff on our credit card, I show that we pay for it in the budget the day of purchase, not the day of payment.)

Regarding our “Set” categories, the only thing really worth mentioning is that we slacked off on our charitable giving. We’ll eventually get caught up on that by giving more than we normally would in the future. What we normally give will be increasing soon, as our income is a lot higher. (Oh, and also, I didn’t pay for our DirecTV because my landlord, who is my sister, owed me roughly $45.)

Unplanned categories…

Gun: Mr. D2S has wanted a handgun for months, and while we should’ve been setting money aside for it, we really hadn’t. He stumbled across a good deal, and I told him to get it. The gun + ammo + holster = his early birthday present.

Nephew stuff: My brother’s family was in town for my graduation and I paid for diapers, milk, and baby food.

Mother’s Day: I realize I should’ve seen this one coming, but I didn’t really plan for the buying of gifts. We bought my mom a gift in April. We bought my mother-in-law something from a catalog (that she picked out) and then bought groceries and made lunch. We will recoup some of this money because included in the grocery tab were some flip-flops that Mr. D2S sweetly bought for me (due to those pesky blisters) that will be returned. Also, my brother-in-law is planning to pay us for part of the food.

Friend’s Wedding Gift: Clearly they got something good, right? Well, we bought them an HDTV with a group of friends. We’ve already been reimbursed $200, and should be getting at least $183.43 more.

If you think about the fact that we’re owed some money (Mother’s Day and the wedding gift), plus the fact that I’m returning a $24 skirt and about $15 worth of shoes, we didn’t do so bad.

In fact, if you ignore the stuff we didn’t plan on (too bad you really can’t ignore it!), we were $273.67 underbudget! πŸ™‚

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

